Super Bowl Village's Many Music Acts Named

More entertainment and broadcasting plans for Super Bowl 46 were released today at a press conference held at Lucas Oil Stadium, including the names of music acts to grace the various stages in the Super Bowl Village, which takes up a three-block stretch of Georgia St.

Rick Fuson, volunteer co-chair of the Super Bowl Village committee, announced the following singers and groups on two stages: national acts on the Verizon Stage at Pennsylvania and Georgia streets, and regional and Indiana-based acts on the Pepsi Stage at Meridian and Georgia streets. (BONUS: Super City then took to the airwaves to discuss the Super Bowl Village entertainment choices and Mayor Greg Ballard’s witty thoughts.)

Verizon Stage highlights: Big Head Todd and the Monsters, Bret Michaels, Darius Rucker, Dierks Bentley, Edwin McCain, En Vogue, Fuel, Straight No Chaser, LMFAO, O.A.R., Patti LaBelle, Sixpence None the Richer, and Umphrey’s McGee

Also playing the Verizon Stage: Corey Cox, Fitz & the Tantrums, Here Come The Mummies, Morris Day and the Time, Railroad Earth, and Will Hoge

Pepsi Stage: Bashiri Asad, Blackberry Jam, Born Again Floozies, Carson Diesing, Cynthia Layne, DJ Limelight, DJ Rusty, Gentleman Alphonse, Greta Speaks, Healing Sixes, Hero, Jr., Hunter Smith Band, Indy’s Legends of Doo Wop, Jennie DeVoe, John Spencer, Living Proof, Lynda Sayyah, Max Allen Band, Otis Gibbs, Red Wanting Blue, Roxie, Stereo Deluxe, The Last Good Year, The Meatball Band, and Twin Cats

Fuson noted that more music artists will be named in coming weeks. Admission to the Super Bowl Village is free of charge. Times for performances will be released at a later date, though the Village itself is open from Jan. 27 through game day on Feb. 5.

Whose live show are you looking forward to seeing?


Photos courtesy of the artists’ Facebook pages

Audio courtesy of 93 WIBC Indy’s Afternoon News with Ed Wenck